Making the first cut in the Amazon Create Space Breakthrough Novel contest (http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/Createspace/ABNA/ABNAGeneralFiction_SecondRound_2012._V137887056_.pdf) with The Portal has improved my outlook somewhat.  Logically I know that one in a thousand is a lot better than one in five-thousand, but emotionally it still seems like a big mountain to climb.  The next milestone is March 20th, when they publish the list of 500 quarter finalists.  One in five-hundred still feels like a long shot, but if I get there I’ll be quite pleased.

The other milestone is the 2011 Compton-Crook competition.  The winners won’t be announced until Balticon on Memorial Day weekend, but by mid-March I ought to be able to get a reading on how well Wednesday’s Child is doing in the preliminary scoring.

I’m not ready to be heavily invested in either, but it’s exciting to contemplate.

