America the Beautiful

Alan Zendell, April 19, 2017

Yesterday, I had a surgical procedure done at my excellent county hospital. It involved four appointments with three doctors and a half day in the outpatient surgery wing of the hospital. Since I have outstanding health insurance, the only cost to me was a $0.68 copay for a prescription. Last year about this time I had open heart surgery, which involved most of a day in an ER, a 75 mile trip in an ambulance, and four inpatient days, plus three months of cardiac rehab. My cost was under $10. Three years ago, I had my arthritic left shoulder replaced with one made of titanium. Same story – including physical therapy, my cost was about $5.

This isn’t about complaining about my health issues or slowly turning into the bionic man. It’s about how fortunate I am to have insurance (Medicare Parts A and B…

View original post 488 more words

